Street Girl of the Week

Liliana

liliana.jpgBonjour Fashionistas!

Each week we will be interviewing an individual whose style caught our eye on the streets here in Paris. Street style is exactly what it sounds like: the style an individual expresses through their daily apparel choices. We believe that this is the best way to identify and understand how an individual expresses their style, and how exactly they want to represent themselves to the world.

This week, I interviewed Liliana, a girl I met here in Paris. I spotted her at a café, and liked her shoes, so we got to talking about her outfit. I learned that she is also studying abroad in Paris for the semester, like myself. She comes from Chapman University in California, and seemed very excited to learn more about Parisian fashion during her time here.

Claire: Could you describe to me what you’re wearing?

Liliana: Today I’m wearing a mustard yellow and white striped turtleneck with a sweater over it, and my black jacket.

Claire: How exactly would you describe your street style to readers?

Liliana: I would say my street style is simple but stylish. I usually stick to darker colors, which makes me feel at home here since everyone in Europe wears such dark clothing! I’ve been trying to incorporate it into my wardrobe even more to blend in with the locals. I’m trying to become fluent in French while I’m here for the semester, and I’ve noticed that the more I dress like them, the less hesitant they are to speak to me in French instead of English.

Claire: Where do you typically shop for your clothing?

Liliana: I feel like where I shop most often has definitely changed pretty recently. Lately, I’ve been super into J. Crew and Topshop. I’ve only been here two weeks, but I’ve already done a little shopping. I really like Muji… that’s actually where I got this shirt from!

Claire: Where do you turn for fashion inspiration?

Liliana: Honestly, just from those around me- my friends, even strangers. I just like to look to see what other people are wearing and kind of incorporate trends the trends I notice and like into my wardrobe. Like I saw everyone here in Paris wearing long black winter coats. I became super self-conscious about my burnt orange one I brought from home, so I decided to go out and buy this one. I liked the dark color thing they had going on here, and I didn’t want to stick out like a sore thumb as a tourist right away!

A big thanks to Miss Liliana for letting me interview her about her street style! ☺

Until next week,

Claire

Leave a Reply

